StudyConnect.com Forum Study Connect Students       

Go Back   StudyConnect.com Forum > Study in Australia - General Topics > Study in Australia - ask a question
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old August 18th, 2012, 06:10 PM

Question Working after finishing studies

Hi there,

I've got a question with regards to working after finishing my studies.

I am a holder of student visa and I just finished my Master of Accounting at Macquarie Uni. I will graduate next month and will apply for a permanent visa (subclass 885) by December.

I'm just wondering. Now that I'm on holidays, can I work fulltime since I already finished my studies? Please note that I'm still on a student visa.

Any assistance will be highly appreciated.

Irish
Sponsored Links
Old August 18th, 2012, 11:04 PM

You cannot work more than 20 hours per week on a student visa. You would have to wait till you get your TR/PR if you want to work legally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by irish24 View Post
Hi there,

I've got a question with regards to working after finishing my studies.

I am a holder of student visa and I just finished my Master of Accounting at Macquarie Uni. I will graduate next month and will apply for a permanent visa (subclass 885) by December.

I'm just wondering. Now that I'm on holidays, can I work fulltime since I already finished my studies? Please note that I'm still on a student visa.

Any assistance will be highly appreciated.

Irish
Old August 19th, 2012, 12:18 AM

Question

Thanks for your reply.

I'm a bit confused because it says in the Macquarie Uni website that:

"Students who complete their course as scheduled have access to unrestricted permission to work during the period left on their visa, unless they have enrolled in further studies."

Link: http://mq.edu.au/policy/docs/visa_in...guideline.html

I still have up to 31st of August of next year before my student visa expires.

Please help.. What do you guys reckon on this?
Old August 19th, 2012, 08:08 AM